Radvent #4

Sincerity

I am the queen of the unsent letter.  I don’t know how many times I have started writing to a friend, and then…my hand cramps.  The baby wakes up from her nap.  I need to change the laundry, finish the dishes, get ready for work.  Life happens, and that letter is never finished, never tucked into an envelope and sent off in the mail.  It’s sad, really.  I love snail mail, love the thrill of opening something to read, something I can hold in my hand and then keep in a treasure box to read again later.  I know most people feel the same way, the joy of going to the mailbox and finding something that isn’t a flier or a bill.

So what’s a gal to do?  How do I ensure that my thoughts and words and questions and silly little stickers (I have a thing for stickers) reach my friends and family, and not end up in the recycle bin in my kitchen?

I think I have the solution.  While I want to be the queen of the long letter and beautiful care package, I am not.  What I am good at is the notecard.  Short, sweet, and to the point.  There’s very little pressure when I write on a notecard, and I find the size constraint very freeing.  I can’t blather on for pages, because the notecards I use are small.  The perfect size for a quick “I’m thinking of you, I love you, I miss you”.  But they work, they still send the joy, still send the love, still send my thoughts and words.

Leave a Reply

