Surviving pregnancy

I don’t really know what I thought it would be like.  I had done my research on conception, pregnancy, and childbirth before Jason and I even started “practicing”, as my mum likes to call it.  I knew what was going to happen to my body throughout pregnancy…but it’s one of those things you have to experience to really understand.  Jason will never know what a period cramp feels like.  I will never know what it feels like to be kicked in the balls.  And until I peed on that stick and saw two little lines, I had no clue what it was going to be like to be pregnant.  Going through labour is another mystery waiting to be explored and experienced.  But right now I’m focused on the proverbial bun that is still in my oven.

I didn’t know how tired I would be.

I didn’t know that “morning sickness” can strike at any time.  It can involve nausea, heaving, or full-on vomiting, sometimes multiple times in one day.

I didn’t know that my nose would become that hypersensitive.

I didn’t know that I could have days of constipation followed by days of diahhrea.

I didn’t know that the smallest of actions could take the greatest of efforts.

I didn’t know that heartburn would become my worst nightmare.

I didn’t know about round ligament pain.

I didn’t know about pelvic pain.

I didn’t know about back pain.

I didn’t know about insomnia.

I didn’t know about what a Braxton-Hicks contraction feels like.

I didn’t know about reduced lung capacity and shortness of breath.

I didn’t know what it feels like to be hungry all the time…and wanting nothing to eat.

I didn’t know about tears and fears.

And the list is still going….

My pregnancy has probably been an average experience, or even better than most.  But it’s not what I expected, not in the least.  I thought I would be one of those women who loveloveloves being pregnant.  I was wrong about that.  I enjoy the fact that I am growing and nurturing a little person, and I enjoy being pregnant for a few vanity-related reasons, but other than that?  It sucks.  I’m thirty-four weeks along.  Baby could come any time over the next eight weeks.  And while I want baby to come when it’s ready, I now understand what it feels like to want this pregnancy to be over and done with already.  And I’ll probably feel even more so in a few weeks.

So, that being said, here’s my list of essentials for surviving pregnancy.

Soft pretzels, chicken fingers, and Starbucks Passion Tea Lemonade.

Hot packs.

Baby powder.

Water, water, and more water-preferably nice and cold and filtered.

Lubriderm unscented lotion for sensitive skin.

Candied ginger.

Arrowroot biscuits.

Mint tea.

More pillows than one person should ever use.

Blackout curtains or an eye mask or both.

Things that smell nice: peppermint foot lotion, almond hand cream, lavender essential oil.

The occasional trip to McDonalds…

Tv on dvd.

Popsicles and powerade.

Tylenol, benedryl, gravol.

Air conditioning, fans, and cool breezes.

Chick lit.

Craft projects.

Clean towels.

Phone calls to my mum.

A willing manservant…aka my husband.

Leave a Reply

